Russia: EAEU Allows Temporary Duty-Free Imports of Critical Foods

  |   Attaché Report (GAIN)

On April 3, 2020, the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC), which is the regulatory body of the Armenia-Belarus-Kazakhstan-Kyrgyzstan-Russia Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), issued EEC Council Decision No. 33, introducing a temporary exemption from import duties for critical food products, such as potatoes, onions, garlic, cabbages, rice, rye, buckwheat, etc., as part of the EAEU coronavirus pandemic response. The measure, which comes into effect on April 18, 2020, will apply to products imported as of April 1, 2020, and last through June 30, 2020. This report contains an unofficial English translation of the measure.

Russia: EAEU Allows Temporary Duty-Free Imports of Critical Foods

Related Reports

On January 4, 2023, the People’s Republic of China (PRC) National Health Commission (NHC), Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Affairs (MARA), and State Administration of Market Regulation (SAMR) jointly announced the publication of a new National Food Safety Standard for 112 Maximum Residue Limits (MRLs) in Foods.
Attaché Report (GAIN)

Philippines: Corn TRQ Administration

The Philippines maintains a Tariff Rate Quota (TRQ) for corn (H.S. 1005). Following the reduction of tariffs in 2022 and their extension in 2023, significant interest in how to access the in-quota tariff ensued, and in turn, so followed widespread concern among local stakeholders for the process being anti-competitive, outdated, and potentially inconsistent with the Philippines' commitments with trading partners.
On February 15, 2023, Commission Regulation (EU) 2023/334 amending Annexes II and V to Regulation (EC) No 396/2005 lowering the maximum residue levels (MRLs) for clothianidin and thiamethoxam in or on certain products was published in the Official Journal (OJ).