Certificate of Free Sale Point of Contact List

A directory of entities that issue state-level Certificates of Free Sale. If you have questions or would like to be added to the list please send an email to PPTRD@usda.gov.

Alabama Scott Absher; Patricia Pollard agcompliance@agi.alabama.gov (334) 240-7184
(800) 642-7761
Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries, Agricultural Compliance Section
Alaska Miguel Rodriquez miguel.rodriguez@alaska.gov (907) 269-7501 State of Alaska, Department of Environmental Health, Food Safety and Sanitation Program
Arizona Lavar Griffin licensing@azda.gov; lgriffin@azda.gov (602) 542-3578 Arizona Department of Agriculture, Licensing and Registration Section
Arkansas  Phillip Fruechting adh.freesale@arkansas.gov (501) 661-2171 Arkansas Department of Health 
California Animal Health and Food Safety Services, Milk and Dairy Food Safety Branch MDFScert@cdfa.ca.gov (916) 900-5008 California Department of Food and Agriculture, Milk & Dairy Food Safety Branch
California California Department of Public Health FDBExports@cdph.ca.gov (916) 650-6519 California Department of Public Health, Food and Drug Branch: Animal Food, Processed Foods
Colorado Colorado Department of Agriculture, Markets Division markets@state.co.us (303) 869-9170 Colorado Department of Agriculture, Markets Division
Connecticut Frank Greene DCP.FoodandStandards@ct.gov (860) 713-6160 Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, Food and Standards
Delaware  William Hastings
Melissa Brayman 
whastings@dscc.com
mbrayman@dscc.com
(302) 576-6567
(302) 576-6572
Delaware State Chamber of Commerce
Florida Roxana Santamaria rsantamaria@enterpriseflorida.com; certificates@enterpriseflorida.com (305)808-3660
(305) 808-3663
Enterprise Florida
Georgia Kathy Holiday certificates-of-free-sale@agr.georgia.gov (404) 656-3627 Georgia Department of Agriculture, Food Safety Division
Hawaii N/A hdoa.info@hawaii.gov (808) 832-0700 Effective February 2017, the State of Hawaii, Department of Health will no longer issue Certificate of Free Sale.
Idaho Brock Cornell brock.cornell@isda.idaho.gov (208) 332-8530 Idaho State Department of Agriculture: Non-Dairy Products
Idaho Jeni Marple jeni.marple@isda.idaho.gov (208) 332-8540 Idaho State Department of Agriculture: Dairy Products
Illinois IDPH Certificate of Free Sale DPH.FreeSale@illinois.gov (217) 785-2439 Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Food Drugs and Dairies
Indiana Kaycie Laughner klaughne@purdue.edu (765) 494-1551 Office of Indiana State Chemist, Commercial Feed, Feed Licensing
Indiana Bret D. Marsh animalhealth@boah.in.gov (317) 544-2400
(877) 747-3038
Indiana State Board of Animal Health, Dairy, Meat, Poultry, Animal Feeds or Feed Ingredients
Iowa Greg Goettsch greg.goettsch@iowaagriculture.gov  (515) 281-8597 Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, Iowa Meat & Poultry Inspection Bureau: Meat and Poultry
Iowa Sophia Borts sophia.borts@iowaagriculture.gov (515) 281-8597 Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, Animal Feed / Food
Kansas Lisa Tillotson; Krista Moore; Judy Liu lisa.tillotson@ks.gov; krista.moore@ks.gov;  judy.liu@ks.gov (785) 564-6770
(785) 564-6776
(785) 564-6686
Kansas Department of Agriculture:  Processed Foods, Dairy, Meat and Poultry; Feed
Kentucky  Jonathan Van Balen jonathan.vanbalen@ky.gov (502) 573-0282 Kentucky Department of Agriculture: Food
Kentucky  Kristen Green  & Michelle Young Kristen.mary.green@uky.edu ; MichelleYoung@uky.edu  (859) 257-2785 Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Animal Feeds
Kentucky  Tammy Cooper  tammyj.cooper@ky.gov (502) 564-7181 Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services; Food Safety Branch
Louisiana Brigit Persson Brigit.Persson@la.gov  (225) 342-7533 Louisiana Department of Health; Export Certificates and Certificates of Free Sale
Maine Michelle Newbegin michelle.newbegin@maine.gov N/A Maine Department of Agriculture, Licensed Food Processors & Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry; Quality Assurance and Regulations
Maryland Effective July 1, 2017, Department of Health Maryland (DHMH) will not provide export certificates.  Food processors wanting an Export Certificate or Free Sale Certificate should go to the FDA Online Export Certificate Application website.
Massachusetts Massachusetts Food Protection Program fpp.dph@state.ma.us (617) 983-6712 Massachusetts Department of Health and Human Services
Michigan Will Wells MDA-FDDBusinessSectionInfo@michigan.gov (517)284-5705 Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development 
Minnesota Steven Stewart steven.stewart@state.mn.us (651) 201-6558 Minnesota Department of Agriculture Feed Safety Inspection Division
Minnesota Stephanie Visker  stephanie.visker@state.mn.us (651) 201-6558 Minnesota Department of Agriculture Plant Protection Division
Minnesota Dairy & Meat / Food & Feed Safety Divisions: Dairy & Meat Products: Dairy & Meat Inspection Division
 
Free.Sale.Certs@state.mn.us; Shannon.Campbell@state.mn.us (651) 201-6630  Minnesota Department of Agriculture; Food & Feed Safety, Dairy & Meat Inspection
Minnesota Food Safety Inspection Division  mary.horvath@state.mn.us    (651) 201-6676  Minnesota Department of Agriculture; Food & Feed Safety, Dairy & Meat Inspection
Mississippi Paige Manning paige@mdac.ms.gov (601) 359-1163 Mississippi Department of Agriculture 
Missouri Agriculture Business Development Division abd@mda.mo.gov (573) 751-4339 Missouri Agriculture Business Development; International Trade; Services to Missouri Exporters: Food and Agricultural Products
Montana Food & Consumer Safety Division hhsfcs@mt.gov (406) 444-2837  Montana Department of Public Health and Safety, Food and Consumer Safety Section, Wholesale Food Establishments
Nebraska Mary Jackson agr.freesale@nebraska.gov (402) 471-2341
(800) 831-0550
Nebraska Department of Agriculture
Nevada Dillon Davidson ddavidson@agri.nv.gov   (775) 386-5599 Nevada Department of Agriculture
New Hampshire State official from New Hampshire reported that they do not currently issue Certificate of Free Sale export documents for processed food products.
New Jersey Peter DeTroia  Peter.DeTroia@doh.nj.gov  (609) 826-4935 New Jersey Department of Health; Food Products
New Mexico Dairy Division N/A (505) 841-9425 New Mexico Department of Agriculture, Dairy Division
New Mexico Feed, Seed, and Fertilizer Section llujan@nmda.nmsu.edu N/A New Mexico Department of Agriculture. Feed, Seed, and Fertilizer Section
New York Luisa Kisel FoodSafety.COFS@agriculture.ny.gov (518) 457-4492 New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets: Processed foods, dairy, animal food
North Carolina Linda Oltz linda.oltz@ncagr.gov (919) 707-3153 North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services; Meat & Poultry Inspection 
North Carolina Michelle Shallington Michelle.Shallington@ncagr.gov (919) 707-3153 North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services; Food and Drug Division 
North Dakota Michelle Mielke mmielke@nd.gov; ndda@nd.gov (701) 328-2233 North Dakota Department of Agriculture; Business, Marketing and Information Division
Ohio Jordyn Brown jordyn.brown@agri.ohio.gov (614) 728-6250  Ohio Department of Agriculture, Division of Food Safety, Processed Products
Ohio Brian Wise brian.wise@agri.ohio.gov or agrdairy@agri.ohio.gov (614) 644-1906  
Oklahoma Consumer Health Service CHSLicensing@health.ok.gov (405) 426-8520         Oklahoma Department of Health, Protective Health, Consumer Health Service, Manufactured Food
Oregon Yvette Arechiga  agmarket@oda.state.or.us (503) 872-6600  Oregon Department of Agriculture, Market Access, Certification and Inspection
Pennsylvania Bureau of Food Safety & Laboratory Services RA-AGPACERTOFFREESAL@pa.gov (717) 772-3238 Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture; Food Safety and Laboratory Services: Processed foods except meat
Rhode Island State official from Rhode Island reported that they do not currently issue Certificate of Free Sale export documents for processed food products.
South Carolina Consumer Protection Division scrowe@scda.sc.gov (803) 737-9700 South Carolina Department of Agriculture, Consumer Protection Division
South Dakota Michael Blume Michael.Blume@state.sd.us (605) 773-5425  South Dakota Department of Agriculture 
Tennessee Food Safety Section Certificate.freesale@tn.gov (615) 837-5193 Tennessee Department of Agriculture
Texas Foods Business Filing and Verification Unit FoodsLicesningGroup@dshs.texas.gov (512) 834-6626 Texas Department of State Health Services, Foods Business Filing and Verification Unit
Utah Travis Waller UDAF-FoodSafety@utah.gov (801) 538-7100 Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Division of Regulatory Services
Vermont Faith Raymond  Faith.raymond@vermont.gov  (802) 828-1619 Vermont Agency of Agriculture
Virginia Keith Long cofs@vedp.org (804) 371-8990 Virginia Economic Development Partnership - International Trade
Washington Food Safety and Consumer Services Division fssanitarycerts@agr.wa.gov (360) 902-1876 Washington State Department of Agriculture
West Virginia State official from West Virginia reported that they do not currently issue Certificate of Free Sale export documents for processed food products.
Wisconsin Division of Food and Recreational Safety DATCPFreeSaleCertificate@wisconsin.gov (608) 224-4720 Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, Food Products
Wisconsin Division of Agricultural Development DATCPFeedexport@wisconsin.gov (608) 224-4616 Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, Animal Feed 
Wyoming Wyoming Department of Agriculture, Technical Services Division; Food and feed products agrtshelpdesk@wyo.gov (307) 777-7324 Wyoming Department of Agriculture, Technical Services Division; Food and feed products

Updated 06/29/2021