Certificate of Free Sale Point of Contact List

A directory of entities who issue state-level Certificates of Free Sale. If you have questions or would like to be added to the list please send an email to PPTRD@fas.usda.gov.

Alabama Scott Absher agcompliance@agi.alabama.gov (334) 240-7184; (800) 642-7761 Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries, Agricultural Compliance Section
Alaska Miguel Rodriquez miguel.rodriguez@alaska.gov (907) 269-7501 State of Alaska, Department of Environmental Health, Food Safety and Sanitation Program
Arizona Licensing and Registration Section licensing@azda.gov (602) 542-0965 Arizona Department of Agriculture,  Licensing and Registration Section
Arkansas Phillip Fruechting adh.freesale@arkansas.gov (501) 661-2171 Arkansas Department of Health
California Animal Health and Food Safety Services, Milk and Dairy Food Safety Branch MDFScert@cdfa.ca.gov (916) 900-5008 California Department of Food and Agriculture, Milk & Dairy Food Safety Branch
California California Department of Public Health FDBExports@cdph.ca.gov (916) 650-6519 California Department of Public Health, Food and Drug Branch: Animal Food, Processed Foods
Colorado Colorado Department of Agriculture, Markets Division markets@state.co.us (303) 869-9170 Colorado Department of Agriculture, Markets Division
Connecticut Frank Greene DCP.FoodandStandards@ct.gov (860) 713-6160 Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, Food and Standards
Delaware Delaware State Chamber of Commerce info@dscc.com  (302) 655-7221 Delaware Department of Agriculture
Florida Roxana Santamaria rsantamaria@enterpriseflorida.com; certificates@enterpriseflorida.com (350) 808-3663 Enterprise Florida
Georgia Kathy Holiday certificates-of-free-sale@agr.georgia.gov (404) 656-3621 Georgia Department of Agriculture, Food Safety Division
Hawaii N/A N/A N/A Effective February 2017, the State of Hawaii, Department of Health will no longer issue Certificate of Free Sale.
Idaho Brock Cornell brock.cornell@isda.idaho.gov (208) 334-2879 Idaho State Department of Agriculture
Idaho Jeni Marple jeni.marple@isda.idaho.gov (208) 332-8540 Idaho State Department of Agriculture
Illinois IDPH Certificate of Free Sale DPH.FreeSale@illinois.gov (217) 785-2439 Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Food Drugs and Dairies
Indiana Kaycie Laughner klaughne@purdue.edu (765) 494-1551 Office of Indiana State Chemist, Commercial Feed, Feed Licensing
Indiana Bret D. Marsh animalhealth@boah.in.gov (317) 544-2400 or (877) 747-3038 Indiana State Board of Animal Health, Dairy, Meat, Poultry, Animal Feeds or Feed Ingredients
Iowa Randy Watts randy.watts@iowaAgriculture.gov (515) 281-8597 Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, Iowa Meat & Poultry Inspection Bureau: Meat and Poultry
Iowa Sophia Borts sophia.borts@iowaagriculture.gov (515) 281-8597 Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, Animal Feed / Food
Kansas Lisa Tillotson lisa.tillotson@ks.gov (785) 564-6770 Kansas Department of Agriculture:  Processed Foods
Kansas Krista Moore krista.moore@ks.gov (785) 564-6776 Kansas Department of Agriculture; Dairy / Meat and Poultry
Kansas Judy Liu Judy.liu@ks.gov (785) 564-6686 Kansas Department of Agriculture; Feed, Agricultural Commodities Assurance Program: Feed
Kentucky  Jonathan Van Balen jonathan.vanbalen@ky.gov (502) 782-4132 Kentucky Department of Agriculture, Office of the Commissioner of Agriculture:  Foods for Animal Consumption, Seed, Fertilizers
Kentucky  Janet Hammonds janet.hammonds@ky.gov (502) 564-7181 Kentucky Department for Public Health, Food Safety Branch: Foods for Human Consumption
Louisiana Brian Warren ldhwebinfo@la.gov (225) 342-9500 Louisiana Department of Health; Export Certificates and Certificates of Free Sale
Maine Michelle Newbegin michelle.newbegin@maine.gov (207) 287-3841 Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry; Quality Assurance and Regulations
Maine Jeffrey Gagnon jeff.gagnon@maine.gov (207) 287-3841 Maine Department of Agriculture, Licensed Food Processors
Maryland N/A N/A N/A Effective July 1, 2017, Department of Health Maryland (DHMH) will not provide export certificates.  Food processors wanting an Export Certificate or Free Sale Certificate should go to the FDA Online Export Certificate Application website.
Massachusetts Massachusetts Food Protection Program fpp.dph@state.ma.us (617) 983-6712 Massachusetts Department of Health and Human Services
Michigan Patricia Bizoukas MDA-FDDBusinessSectionInfo@michigan.gov (517) 284-5738 Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development 
Minnesota Gary Gramm Free.Sale.Certs@state.mn.us (651) 201-6558 Minnesota Department of Agriculture
Minnesota Douglas Lueders MDA.Licensing@state.mn.us (651) 201-6027 Minnesota Department of Agriculture
Mississippi Paige Manning paige@mdac.ms.gov (601) 359-1163 Mississippi Department of Agriculture
Missouri Agriculture Business Development Division abd@mda.mo.gov (573) 751-4339 Missouri Agriculture Business Development; International Trade; Services to Missouri Exporters: Food and Agricultural Products
Montana Public Health and Safety Section hhsfcs@mt.gov (406) 444-5055 Montana Department of Public Health and Safety, Food and Consumer Safety Section, Wholesale Food Establishment\s
Nebraska Mary Jackson agr.freesale@nebraska.gov (402) 471-2341 or (800) 831-0550 Nebraska Department of Agriculture
Nevada Jeff Sutich Jssutich@agri.nv.gov (775)353-3627 Nevada Department of Agriculture, Plant
Nevada Paul Cohen pcohen@health.nv.gov (775) 687-7533 Nevada Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public and Behavioral Health
New Hampshire Jennifer Gornnert jennifer.gornnert@agr.nh.gov (603) 271-2404 New Hampshire, Department of Agriculture, Division of Regulatory Services
New Jersey Galen E. Ettinger galen.ettinger@ag.nj.gov (609) 406-6941 New Jersey Department of Agriculture: Plant Pest and Disease Control
New Jersey Peter DeTroia  Peter.DeTroia@doh.nj.gov  (609) 406-6939 New Jersey Department of Health - Food and Drug Safety Program: Processed Products
New Mexico Dairy Division N/A (505) 841-9425 New Mexico Department of Agriculture, Dairy Division
New Mexico Feed, Seed, and Fertilizer Section mrobles@nmda.nmsu.edu (575) 646-3107 New Mexico Department of Agriculture Feed, Seed, and Fertilizer Section
New York John Luker john.luker@agriculture.ny.gov   (518) 457-4492 New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets: Processed foods, dairy, animal food
North Carolina Linda Oltz linda.oltz@ncagr.gov  (919) 707-3153 North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
North Carolina Elizabeth Glass elizabeth.glass@ncagr.gov  (919) 707-3153 North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
North Dakota Michelle Mielke mmielke@nd.gov (701) 328-2233 North Dakota Department of Agriculture; Marketing and Information Division
Ohio Jordyn Brown jordyn.brown@agri.ohio.gov (614) 644-0720 Ohio Department of Agriculture, Division of Food Safety, Processed Foods
Ohio Brian Wise brian.wise@agri.ohio.gov (614) 446-5550 Ohio Department of Agriculture; Dairy Division, Dairy Products
Ohio Roger Tedrick tedrick@agri.ohio.gov (614) 446-5550 Ohio Department of Agriculture; Dairy Division, Dairy Products
Oklahoma Consumer Health Service CHSLicensing@health.ok.gov (405) 271-5243 Oklahoma Department of Health, Protective Health, Consumer Health Service, Manufactured Food
Oklahoma Animal Industry Staff rhonda.keener@ag.ok.gov (405-522-6141 Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Animal Industry Staff
Oregon Agricultural Development & Marketing seedservices@oda.state.or.us (503) 986-4620 Oregon Department of Agriculture, Market Access, Certification and Inspection
Pennsylvania Pamela Hall RA-AGPACERTOFFREESAL@pa.gov (717) 772-3238 Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture; Food Safety and Laboratory Services: Processed foods except meat
Rhode Island N/A N/A N/A State official from Rhode Island reported that they do not currently issue Certificate of Free Sale export documents for processed food products.
South Carolina Consumer Protection Division scrowe@scda.sc.gov (803) 737-9700 South Carolina Department of Agriculture, Consumer Protection Division
South Dakota Mike Stenson mike.stenson@state.sd.us (605) 773-4432 South Dakota Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Services
Tennessee Food Safety Section Certificate.freesale@tn.gov (615) 837-5193 Tennessee Department of Agriculture
Texas Foods Business Filing and Verification Unit FoodsLicesningGroup@dshs.texas.gov (512) 834-6626 Texas Department of State Health Services, Foods Business Filing and Verification Unit
Texas Kevin D. Haack Kevin.Haack@TexasAgriculture.gov (512) 463-6982 Texas Department of Agriculture; Pesticide Products
Utah Travis Waller UDAF-FoodSafety@utah.gov (801) 538-7100 Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Division of Regulatory Services
Vermont Chelsea Lewis Chelsea.Lewis@vermont.gov (802) 522-5573 Vermont Chamber of Commerce
Vermont Tanya Marshall N/A (802) 828-3700 Vermont State Archives and Records Administration
Virginia Anne Phillips aphillips@vedp.org (804) 545-5759 Virginia Economic Development Partnership - International Trade
Washington Food Safety and Consumer Services Division fssanitarycerts@agr.wa.gov (360) 902-1876 Washington State Department of Agriculture: All foods except meat products
West Virginia Business and Licensing Division business@wvsos.gov (866)767-8683 West Virginia Department of Agriculture, Business and Licensing
West Virginia Wayne Powell wayne.p.powell@wv.gov (304) 558-2981 West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources; Office of Environmental Health Services, Public Health Sanitation
Wisconsin Trade and Consumer Protection DATCPFreeSaleCertificate@wisconsin.gov (608) 224-5012 Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, Food 
Wisconsin Trade and Consumer Protection DATCPFeedexport@wisconsin.gov (608) 224-4616 Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, Feed 
Wisconsin International Marketing international@wisconsin.gov  (608) 224-5012 Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, Non-food
Wyoming Hank Uhden hank.uhden@wyo.gov (307) 777-6574 Wyoming Department of Agriculture, Technical Services Division: Feed and Feed Ingredients
Wyoming Wes Brown wda1@state.wy.us (307) 777-6592 Wyoming Department of Agriculture: Feed and Feed Ingredients

Updated 08/14/2018